Presenting the 2018 SHM Awards of Excellence winners

Certificate of Leadership in Hospital Medicine

Benji K. Mathews, MD, SFHM, CLHM, graduated from the Institute of Technology at the University of Minnesota and the University of Minnesota Medical School. He completed his internal medicine residency and chief residency through the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis. He joined HealthPartners as an academic hospitalist and holds the titles of section head of hospital medicine at Regions Hospital and director of point of care ultrasound (POCUS) for Hospital Medicine at HealthPartners. He is the president for the Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Hospital Medicine (SHM).

Dr. Benji Matthews

Dr. Mathews has a passion for medical education, care delivery, and quality. He is an assistant professor of medicine at the University of Minnesota. As such, he is core faculty for the internal medicine residency program and chair of the Clinical Competency Committee. Dr. Mathews is an active member of SHM as a member of SHM’s annual meeting planning committee, organizing and setting the agenda for SHM’s record breaking meetings for the last 4 years. Dr. Mathews also serves on SHM’s Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Committee and is the chair of the Diagnostic Error Subcommittee. He has completed the Certificate of Leadership in Hospital Medicine (CLHM) with his area of focus on ultrasound in hospital medicine. His work in diagnostic error and POCUS has been well recognized with multiple workshops and presentations given locally and nationally. He is a Fellow in Diagnostic Safety through the Society to Improve Diagnosis in Medicine.

Dr. Mathews also has a passion for global health, rooted in his commitment to reducing health care disparities both locally and globally. He has worked with medical missions, NGOs, and orphanages in Nepal, India, Bolivia, Honduras, and Costa Rica. This led him to complete the global health course at the University of Minnesota.

SHM’s Junior Investigator Award

Christine D. Jones, MD, MS, is an assistant professor of medicine at the University of Colorado’s Anschutz medical campus, Aurora, where she is the director of care transitions and director of scholarship for the division of hospital medicine.

Dr. Christine D. Jones of the University of Colorado's Anschutz Medical Campus, where she is the director of care transitions and director of scholarship for the division of hospital medicine

University of Colorado Hospital

Dr. Christine D. Jones

Dr. Jones’ research is focused on improving care coordination between clinicians in different settings to improve outcomes for patients discharged with home health care. Her research is supported by a K08 career development award from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Her overall goal is to improve the quality of care transitions for hospitalized patients discharged to post-acute care settings, including home health care. Dr. Jones has presented at every SHM annual conference since she joined in 2013.

Chapter Excellence Awards

The Society of Hospital Medicine is proud to recognize outstanding SHM chapters at HM18 for the fifth annual Chapter Excellence Awards. Each year, chapters strive to demonstrate growth, sustenance, and innovation within their chapter activities, which are then applauded for their successes at SHM’s annual conference.

Platinum Chapters: Gulf States, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, New Mexico, North Carolina Triangle, St. Louis.

Gold Chapters: Hampton Roads, Kentucky, North Jersey, Pacific Northwest.

Silver Chapters: Boston/Eastern Massachusetts, Houston, Los Angeles, Maine, NYC/Westchester, Rocky Mountain, San Francisco Bay Area, South Central PA, Southwest Florida, Wiregrass.

Outstanding Chapter of the Year

New Mexico. SHM’s New Mexico Chapter has been nominated to receive the Outstanding Chapter of the Year Award for 2017. Consistently, leadership and members go above and beyond the basic requirements to maintain status by creating and cultivating multiple innovative and dynamic opportunities for attendees to educate and network. The chapter participated in SHM’s pilot program to offer CME for chapters, bringing a CME-accredited educational presentation on the care of diverse patients. Their annual meeting this year featured a poster competition for residents, students, and early-career hospitalists; a didactic on antimicrobial stewardship; and a business meeting with elections, member benefits, and highlights of the chapter’s year, and chapter awards. The chapter initiated breakfast meetings with didactics on DACA and on burnout and wellness, and collaborated with the University of New Mexico, Albuquerque on a grand rounds series on physician wellness that was available via telecast to numerous hospitals and providers off site. The chapter hosted a book club, a networking session at HM17, and an informational meeting on SHM membership and the Fellows Program. They have supported the future of hospital medicine by having a table at the UNM School of Medicine’s student activities fair, a Resident of the Year Award, and a position on our council for a resident representative. They have collaborated with the sole internal medicine residency program in New Mexico so that residents in the hospitalist training track have membership in SHM, and they have expanded our juried poster competition to include students. The chapter’s level of originality is not only a benefit to the chapter, but SHM’s chapter program as a whole.

Comment on this Article

Your email address will not be published.