Hospitalist movers and shakers – March 2018


Jason Blair, DO, recently was named an honorary Fellow by the American College of Osteopathic Internists (ACOI) for excellence in the practice of internal medicine. Dr. Blair currently is a hospitalist at Lake Regional Health System in Osage Beach, Mo.

The degree of Fellow is given to physicians who demonstrate continuing professional accomplishments, scholarship, and professional activities, including teaching, research, and community service. The ACOI represents more than 5,000 osteopathic internists and subspecialists nationwide. Dr. Blair joined Lake Regional in 2017.

Dr. Eric Howell

Dr. Eric Howell

Eric Howell, MD, was selected as one of seven winners of the Armstrong Award for Excellence in Quality and Safety, as picked by Johns Hopkins Medicine. According to Hopkins Medicine, the award goes to physicians who partner “with patients, families, colleagues, and staff members to optimize patient outcomes and eliminate preventable harm.”

Dr. Howell is the division director of the Collaborative Inpatient Medicine Service (CIMS) and a professor of medicine at the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center in Baltimore. He received the award for his work with project EQUIP (Excellence in Quality, Utilization Integration, and Patient-Centered Care) to improve quality and efficiency and to reduce mortality, emergency department boarding, and patient lengths of stay.

David Svec, MD, MBA, has been named the new chief medical officer at Stanford Health Care – ValleyCare in Pleasanton, Calif. Dr. Svec has served as a hospitalist and internal medicine specialist at ValleyCare for the past 6 years. Previously, he was ValleyCare’s medical director of the hospitalist team and a clinical assistant professor of medicine. Dr. Svec helped develop the hospitalist program at ValleyCare and will continue to work in that capacity while advancing into his new role.

As CMO, Dr. Svec will carry on the mission of Stanford Health Care, including increasing innovative programs, monitoring outcome measures, and developing and implementing improvement plans.

Dr. Svec earned Stanford Health Care’s 2016 David A. Rytand Clinical Teaching Award, the 2016 Lawrence Mathers Award: Exceptional Commitment to Teaching/Active Involvement in Medical Student Education, and the 2014 Arthur L. Bloomfield Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching.

Brent Baboolal, MD, recently was selected by the International Association of HealthCare Professionals to be part of the Leading Physicians of the World. Dr. Baboolal is an internist and a hospitalist serving the Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital in Dallas.

Trained in Grenada, Dr. Baboolal came to the United States in 2009 and began work at Stamford (Conn.) Hospital. He is board certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine and is renowned as a leading internist and hospitalist. He is a former associate professor at the University of Texas School of Nursing.

Next Article:

   Comments ()