SHM to induct new Masters in Hospital Medicine


The Society of Hospital Medicine will induct four new Masters in Hospital Medicine (MHM), the society’s highest professional honor, at HM18. Recipients are distinguished by the excellence and significance of their contributions to the field of hospital medicine and health care overall, said Larry Wellikson, MD, MHM, CEO of the Society of Hospital Medicine. They have been selected because of personal character; positions of honor; contributions toward furthering the society’s goals; distinction in practice, education, medical research; and other achievements in science or in the art of hospital medicine.

MHM nominees must be highly accomplished individuals in the hospital medicine specialty. Evidence of their achievements can come from many types of activities, such as excellence in clinical care, health care initiatives, education, research, writing and publication, volunteerism, and administrative positions. Current members of the society’s board are not eligible for nomination or selection.

This is truly the Hall of Fame for hospital medicine. Congratulations to this year’s MHMs.

Andrew Auerbach, MD, MPH, MHM, is professor of medicine in residence at the University of California, San Francisco, where he also serves as director of innovation research for the Center for Digital Health and Innovation. He was one of the first 200 members of the Society of Hospital Medicine when it was first called the National Association of Inpatient Physicians. “I have contributed to the field and society through my research and national role as a hospitalist in high-profile policy and guideline initiatives,” he said. These include formulating guidelines for the Institute of Medicine, American College of Cardiology, and Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.

Dr. Andrew D. Auerbach is a professor of medicine in residence at the University of California, San Francisco

Dr. Andrew D. Auerbach

Dr. Auerbach has been deeply involved with the society through his role as chair of its Research Committee and Academic Hospitalist Committee for several years. Other accomplishments include being a founding framer of the Academic Hospitalist Academy, contributing to white papers outlining academic hospitalists’ needs, cofounding a national research network for hospitalists, and serving as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Hospital Medicine for 7 years.

“Being named an MHM is wonderful recognition,” he said. “I just hope it does not represent a ‘lifetime achievement’ award – I still have many things I want to accomplish in my career!”

Daniel J. Brotman, MD, MHM, professor of medicine, director of the hospitalist program at Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore, and a member of the Society of Hospital Medicine since 2000, has served in many roles at the organization. These include being a member of the Annual Meeting Planning Committee (2007-2016), course director for the annual meeting (2013, 2014), chair of the Education Committee (2012-2016), and a member of the Research Committee (2008-2015). Dr. Brotman also won the society’s Research Award in 2015. He has been a staple of the editorial team at the Journal of Hospital Medicine since its founding in 2006.

Dr. Daniel Brotman is a professor of medicine, and director of the hospitalist program at Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore

Dr. Daniel Brotman

“I am truly honored to be recognized for my participation and leadership in the field of hospital medicine and the society,” he said. “I am humbled to be included among the many luminaries who have won the award in prior years.”

He has been in his current role at Johns Hopkins since 2005, where he has more than tripled the program’s size and grown its academic profile.

“I have had the good fortune to work with a lot of talented faculty members and have helped them advance professionally and academically, while they pushed me to be a better leader,” Dr. Brotman said. “I encourage my team members to participate in the Society of Hospital Medicine; it is a fabulous way to gain leadership opportunities while staying abreast of the most important developments in the field.”


Next Article:

   Comments ()