Fellows and Awards of Excellence


Vineet Arora, MD, understands the unique value of being named one of this year’s three Masters in Hospital Medicine. It’s an honor bestowed for hospitalists, by hospitalists.

“I take a lot of pride in an honor determined by peers,” said Dr. Arora, an academic hospitalist at University of Chicago Medicine. “While peers are often the biggest support you receive in your professional career, because they are in the trenches with you, they can also be your best critics. That is especially true of the type of work that I do, which relies on the buy-in of frontline clinicians – including hospitalists and trainees – to achieve better patient care and education.”

Dr. Vineet Arora

Dr. Vineet Arora

The designation of new Masters in Hospital Medicine is a major moment at SHM’s annual meeting. The 2017 list of awardees is headlined by Dr. Arora and the other MHM designees: former SHM President Burke Kealey, MD, and Richard Slataper, MD, who was heavily involved with the National Association of Inpatient Physicians, a predecessor to SHM. The three new masters bring to 24 the number of MHMs the society has named since unveiling the honor in 2010.
Dr. Burke Kealey

Dr. Burke Kealey

Dr. Arora understands that after 20 years as a specialty, just two dozen practitioners have reached hospital medicine’s highest professional distinction.

“I think of ‘mastery’ as someone who has achieved the highest level of expertise in a field, so an honor like Master in Hospital Medicine definitely means a lot to me,” she said. “Especially given the prior recipients of this honor, and the importance of SHM in my own professional growth and development since I was a trainee.”

In addition to the top honor, HM17 will see the induction of 159 Fellows in Hospital Medicine (FHM) and 58 Senior Fellows in Hospital Medicine (SFHM). This year’s fellows join the thousands of physicians and nonphysician providers (NPPs) that have attained the distinction.

SHM also bestows its annual Awards of Excellence (past winners listed here include Dr. Arora and Dr. Kealey) that recognize practitioners across skill sets. The awards are meant to honor SHM members “whose exemplary contributions to the hospital medicine movement deserve acknowledgment and respect,” according to the society’s website.

The 2017 Award winners include:

• Excellence in Teamwork in Quality Improvement: Johnston Memorial Hospital in Abingdon, Va.

• Excellence in Research: Jeffrey Barsuk, MD, MS, SFHM.

• Excellence in Teaching: Steven Cohn, MD, FACP, SFHM.

• Excellence in Hospital Medicine for Non-Physicians: Michael McFall.

• Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine: Jeffrey Greenwald, MD, SFHM.

• Clinical Excellence: Barbara Slawski, MD.

• Excellence in Humanitarian Services: Jonathan Crocker, MD, FHM.

Dr. Jonathan Crocker

Dr. Jonathan Crocker

Dr. Arora, who has served on the SHM committee that analyzes all nominees for the annual awards, recognizes the value of honoring these high-achieving clinicians.

“There is great value to having our specialty society recognize members in different ways,” she said “The awards of excellence serve as a wonderful reminder of the incredible impact that hospitalists have in many diverse ways … while having the distinction of a fellow or senior fellow serves as a nice benchmark to which new hospitalists can aspire and gain recognition as they emerge as leaders in the field.”

Next Article:

   Comments ()