Movers and Shakers

Movers and Shakers in Hospital Medicine


Chad Whelan, MD, FHM, began his new role as chief medical officer at Loyola University Health System in Chicago on June 1. Dr. Whelan previously worked as director of the hospital medicine division at Loyola before serving as associate chief medical officer at the University of Chicago Medical Center.

Matthew Dunn, MD, is the 2014 Nathan Avery Physician of the Year at Flagstaff (Ariz.) Medical Center (FMC). Dr. Dunn has worked at FMC as an adult hospitalist since 2011 and a pediatric hospitalist since July 2012 when FMC launched its pediatric hospitalist program. Dr. Dunn is known for his emphasis on patient- and family-centered care as well as interdisciplinary teamwork.

Barbara Michael, MD, and Jim K. Hudson III, MD, were recently honored as two of the Knoxville, Tenn.-based TeamHealth’s 2014 Medical Directors of the Year. Dr. Michael, the hospital medicine honoree, is hospitalist medical director at St. Francis Hospital in Charleston, W.Va. Dr. Hudson, the specialty hospitalist honoree, is medical director of orthopedic surgery at Baptist Memorial Hospital in Memphis, Tenn.

Murthy Madduri, MD, has been named the new hospitalist medical director at CaroMont Regional Medical Center in Gastonia, N.C. Dr. Madduri has been a practicing hospitalist since 1996 and a hospitalist medical director at various institutions since 2000.

Brian Pate, MD, is the new chair of the pediatrics department at the University of Kansas School of Medicine in Wichita. Prior to his current position, Dr. Pate served as pediatric hospitalist division director and vice president of inpatient services at Children’s Mercy Hospital in Kansas City, Mo.

Next Article:

   Comments ()