Medicolegal Issues

Three Earn Master of Hospital Medicine Designation


Hospitalists of all stripes owe our new Masters in Hospital Medicine a great debt for their commitment to the specialty, to their patients, and to healthcare.

—Joseph Ming-Wah Li, MD, SFHM, SHM president

If the SHM Award of Excellence winners are the MVPs of HM, then the specialty’s new Masters in Hospital Medicine are this year’s Hall of Famers.

SHM is proud to announce that Patrick J. Cawley, MD, MBA, MHM, Peter K. Lindenauer, MD, MSc, FACP, MHM, and Mark V. Williams, MD, FACP, MHM, have earned the Master in Hospital Medicine designation. They are the eighth, ninth, and 10th SHM members to receive the exclusive designation. In addition to being honored at HM12, they have earned the right to use the “MHM” credential.

“Hospitalists of all stripes owe our new Masters in Hospital Medicine a great debt for their commitment to the specialty, to their patients, and to healthcare,” says Joseph Ming Wah Li, MD, SFHM, SHM president. “Their innovation, leadership, and vision have helped grow the influence and credibility of the hospital medicine specialty.”

Dr. Cawley is a charter member and past president of SHM who has served on the Ethics and Public Policy committees. He is a frequent speaker at the society’s annual meetings. Dr. Cawley received his medical degree from Georgetown University School of Medicine and trained as a resident at Duke University Medical Center, where he also served as an assistant chief resident. He has been a contributing writer to The Hospitalist and several other journals and books.

Dr. Lindenauer is a board-certified internist and founding SHM board member. His research focuses on measuring the quality and outcomes of hospital care for patients with common medical conditions. He is supported by grants from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality and the NIH’s National Heart Lung and Blood Institute. His research has appeared in the New England Journal of Medicine, JAMA, Annals of Internal Medicine, Health Affairs, Medical Care, and other general internal medicine and subspecialty journals.

Dr. Williams is professor and chief of the Division of Hospital Medicine at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago. He is the principal investigator for SHM’s Project BOOST and is a former SHM president and board member. He has served in numerous leadership roles since the society’s establishment in 1996. In 1998, Dr. Williams established the first hospitalist program at a public hospital, Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta.

Drs. Cawley, Lindenauer, and Williams represent the third year of the Masters program. This marks the first year that nominations could be submitted to the SHM Masters Selection committee.

Joining the new masters in earning a new designation are 120 new Fellows in Hospital Medicine (FHM) and 52 Senior Fellows in Hospital Medicine (SFHM). The new members push the fellows program totals to 947 FHMs, 243 SFHMs, and 10 MHMs.

Brendon Shank is SHM’s associate vice president of communications.

Next Article:

   Comments ()