All Content

Hospitalists on the Move: June 2011


Dr. Harrington
Dr. Fisher

Robert Harrington Jr., MD, SFHM, and Erin Stucky Fisher, MD, MHM, have been elected to SHM’s board of directors. Dr. Harrington, chief medical officer for Locum Leaders, serves as chair of SHM’s Family Medicine Task Force and board liaison to the IT Core Committee. Dr. Fisher, professor of clinical pediatrics at the University of California at San Diego, is actively involved with quality initiatives for the American Academy of Pediatrics, the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, and the National Association of Children’s Hospitals.

Jasen W. Gundersen, MD, MBA, CPE, SFHM, has been appointed chief medical officer for TeamHealth Hospital Medicine.

IPC: The Hospitalist Company Inc. has appointed Kerry Weiner, MD, to the newly created position of chief clinical officer. Dr. Weiner will lead the clinical functions of the company and continue the development of hospitalist leaders throughout IPC.

Dr. Pantilat

Steven Pantilat, MD, FACP, SFHM, has received a 2011 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Award. Dr. Pantilat, one of five recipients, is professor of clinical medicine, the Alan M. Kates and John M. Burnard Endowed Chair in Palliative Care, and director of the Palliative Care Leadership Center at UCSF. Now in its sixth year, the award celebrates extraordinary leaders who are applying innovative and effective solutions to significant state issues. Dr. Pantilat, a past SHM president, will receive $125,000 in organizational support.

On the move?

Email your new hires, promotions, and business deals to

Hospitalist Patrick O’Neil, DO, has been named Lake Regional Health System’s 2011 Physician of the Year. The 116-bed health system serves 1,300 employees in the Land of the Ozarks, Mo., area.

Hospitalist Wiley Robinson, MD, has been named president-elect of the Tennessee Medical Association and will head the organization for 2012-2013. An internal-medicine specialist, Dr. Robinson is cofounder and president of Inpatient Physicians of the Mid-South, a Memphis-based hospitalist group.

Dr. Wachter

The Association of Specialty Professors announced Robert M. Wachter, MD, MHM, will receive the 2011 ASP Eric G. Neilson, MD, Distinguished Professor Award. Dr. Wachter is professor of medicine and the Marc and Lynne Benioff Endowed Chair in Hospital Medicine at the University of California at San Francisco (UCSF) School of Medicine, and a past president of SHM. The Neilson Award is presented annually to a leader who has shaped the internal-medicine landscape and promotes the work of leaders who bring about change for specialty medicine. TH


HM Mergers, Acquisitions, and Expansions

  • Two of the nation’s largest hospitalist companies, Brentwood, Tenn.-based Cogent Healthcare and Canton, Ohio-based Hospitalists Management Group, have agreed to merge. The new, privately held company will be called Cogent-HMG and will be headquartered in Nashville, Tennessee, but Canton offices will be maintained.
  • Sound Physicians has received a Doyle Award for Innovation and Leadership in Healthcare from Milliman Care Guidelines. Sound Physicians, a national hospitalist service organization, won in the healthcare provider category. With approximately 500 physicians working at more than 45 hospitals around the country, Sound Physicians used the care guidelines as a key component to support its High-Impact Diagnoses Initiative.
  • IPC: The Hospitalist Company Inc. has acquired Mid-Michigan Hospitalist Group, PC. Headquartered in Grand Blanc, Mich., the acquisition of this acute-care practice will mean further IPC expansion in the Michigan market. Mid-Michigan Hospitalist Group has an annualized volume of about 20,000 patient encounters.
  • Cogent Healthcare has announced a new affiliation with Sts. Mary & Elizabeth Hospital in Louisville, Ky. Under the agreement, Cogent will serve in a management role for the hospital’s 16-year-old hospitalist program, providing structure, support resources, and leadership. The 331-bed primary-care hospital is a member of Jewish Hospital & St. Mary’s HealthCare, and serves more than 45,000 patients each year in its emergency room. TH

Next Article:

   Comments ()