All Content

HM on the Move

Dr. Wachter

Robert Wachter, MD, MHM, has been named a 2012 Fulbright Scholar. Dr. Wachter is professor and associate chairman of the Department of Medicine at the University of California at San Francisco. He will study patient safety with Charles Vincent, director of the Imperial Centre for Patient Safety and Service Quality and the Clinical Safety Research Unit at Imperial College, London.

Trustees at Bamberg County Hospital in South Carolina have honored Maggie Shatilla, MD, for her service to the hospital. Dr. Shatilla was recognized for her “outstanding leadership” and her “valuable and memorable humanitarian services” to the hospital and its patients. Dr. Shatilla served in the hospitalist position until October, when the board voted to end the HM program.

Jeffrey Sperring, MD, has been named president and chief executive officer of Riley Hospital for Children at Indiana University Health. Dr. Sperring joined IU Health in 2002 and has served as chief medical officer of Riley at IU Health since 2009. Marilyn Cox has been serving as interim president and CEO and will now return to her role as chief nursing officer and senior vice president for nursing and patient care services.

Gunjana Bhandari, MD, has been selected as medical director of Michigan-based Bronson Internal Medicine Hospital Specialists, a new hospitalist program at Bronson Battle Creek hospital.

Dr. Wall

Bert Puckett Wall, MD, has been named a winner of one of TeamHealth’s 2011 Medical Director of the Year awards. Dr. Wall is medical director of the hospital medi medicine program at Upson Regional Medical Center in Thomaston, Ga. Dr. Wall is one of 10 individuals honored for excellence in physician leadership.

Comment on this Article

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *