Researchers Earn First SHM Junior Faculty Development Awards


NATIONAL HARBOR, Md. — Kirsten Kangelaris, MD, and Evan Fieldston, MD, MBA, MSHP, were presented $50,000 Junior Faculty Development Awards this morning at HM10. The first-year awards are part of SHM’s commitment to helping the “generation of new knowledge,” said Scott Flanders, SHM’s outgoing president.

Dr. Kangelaris, a fellow in internal medicine at the University of California at San Francisco, focuses her research on continued clinical and biologic genetic risk-prediction algorithms that will improve the triage and early-management strategies for hospitalized patients with inflammatory illness.

Dr. Fieldston, an assistant professor in pediatrics at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine and Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, plans to use his award to examine the association between dynamic aspects of workload, workforce, and quality of care at children’s hospitals.

SHM also handed out its annual Awards of Excellence and announced winners from the Research, Innovation, and Clinical Vignette (PDF) competition. Judges scored more than 400 posters; some of the winning project teams included medical students.

“I am particularly proud to see that we had medical students as award winners,” said Flanders, chief of the hospital medicine division at the University of Michigan Health System in Ann Arbor. “That gives me great hope for the future of HM.”

Awards of Excellence

  • Clinical Excellence: Jennifer Myers (pictured), MD, FHM, patient safety officer at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania;
  • Excellence in Research: Margaret Fang, MD, MPH, FHM, assistant professor of medicine at the University of California at San Francisco;
  • Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine: Mitchell Wilson, MD, SFHM, corporate medical director for Eagle Hospital Physicians;
  • Excellence in Teaching: Amir Jaffer, associate professor of medicine, chief of the hospital medicine division in the Department of Medicine at the University of Miami (Fla.); and
  • Excellence in Teamwork in Quality Improvement: Emory Healthcare’s VTE Prevention Team.

Research, Innovation, and Clinical Vignettes winners

  • Research: Will Southern, MD, MS, and Julia Arnsten, MD, MPH, Montefiore Medical Center, Bronx, N.Y.: “Increased Mortality and Readmission Among Patients Discharged against Medical Advice.”
  • Innovation Poster: Aaron Farberg, BS, Andrew Lin, BS, Latoya Kuhn, MPH, Scott Flanders, MD, SFHM, Christopher Kim, MD, MBA, University of Michigan Medical School, “Dear Doctor: A Tool to Facilitate Patient-Centered Care and Enhance Communication.”
  • Adult Vignette: Jennie Wei, MD, and Patrick Kneeland, MD, University of California at San Francisco, “A Case of Skin Ulcers and Neutropenia: Definitely Not a Helminth Problem.”
  • Pediatric Vignette: Harry Hoar, MD, Baystate Children’s Hospitalist, Springfield, Mass., “A Teen with Varices: An Uncommon Presentation of a Familiar Disease.”

Next Article:

   Comments ()