All Content

Trendsetting Hospitalists Receive SHM’s Top Honors


SHM has presented the 2008 Awards of Excellence to four hospitalists and one quality improvement team. Their work and research have contributed significantly to hospital medicine and the betterment of patient care and quality improvement. The winners were recognized at Hospital Medicine 2008.

Award for Clinical Excellence: Kevin O’Leary, MD, associate professor of medicine and the associate chief of the Division of Hospital Medicine at Northwestern University’s Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago.

Dr. O’Leary leads strategic initiatives for the division in his job as associate chief of the Division of Hospital Medicine, especially in patient safety and quality. He also chairs the department’s Quality Management Committee.

An active member of SHM since 2002, Dr. O’Leary has served on the Core Competencies Task Force, the Annual Meeting Planning Committee, and the Annual Meeting Precourse Planning Committee. He also is active in SHM’s Chicago chapter, where he serves as vice president. He serves as an assistant editor for the Journal of Hospital Medicine.

Dr. O’Leary received his bachelor’s inbiology and medical degree from the University of Illinois. He completed his residency at Northwestern University.


If you would like to nominate someone for the 2009 Awards of Excellence, please send a nomination letter (nominees can be self-nominated) along with the nominee’s curriculum vitae and two letters of support.

E-mail letters and curriculum vitae to For additional information call (800) 843-3360 or visit our Web site at All Awards of Excellence recipients receive an all-expense-paid trip and complimentary registration to Hospital Medicine 2009 in Chicago next May.

Award for Excellence in Research: Peter Lindenauer, MD, MSc, medical director of clinical and quality informatics at Baystate Health in Springfield, Mass., and associate professor of medicine at Tufts University School of Medicine in Boston.

Dr. Lindenauer is responsible for lending the development of an electronic medical record at a large integrated delivery network in western Massachusetts in his job as medical director of clinical and quality informatics.

He has served on technical expert panels for Medicare, patient safety, monitoring systems, and surgical care improvement projects. He also has been a part of the National Quality Forum’s Hospital Quality Measures Development Group and has served on the inpatient functionality work group of the Certifying Committee for Healthcare Information Technology.

As a founding member of SHM, Dr. Lindenauer has served on the society’s board of directors and is a member of the Hospital Quality and Patient Safety Standards Committee.

A graduate of the University of Chicago, Dr. Lindenauer received his bachelor’s in history and received his graduate degree from the Herndon School of Economics and Political Science in Health Planning and Financing. He received his medical degree from the University of Pennsylvania and completed residency training at the University of California, San Francisco.

Award for Excellence in Teaching: Anjala Tess, MD, associate program director for the Internal Medicine Residency Program and director of education for the hospital medicine program, as well as a medical unit director and practicing hospitalist at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in Boston.

Dr. Tess is in charge of the quality improvement teaching program and curriculum for the entire residency program at Beth Israel Deaconess. She also helps oversee the resident elective in hospital medicine and directs educational activities for the group. Her goal is to involve residents in process improvement in the hospital by giving them a hands-on role in quality improvement and peer review.

She has received numerous awards, including the Hermann Blumgart Teaching Award at Beth Israel Deaconess and first prize in SHM’s Innovations Poster Competition.

As an undergraduate, Dr. Tess earned her degree from Brown University, in Rhode Island, and received her medical degree at Washington University’s St. Louis School of Medicine. She completed her residency at Beth Israel Deaconess. She also completed fellowships at Harvard Medical School, the Carl J. Shapiro Institute for Education Research and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.

Award for Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine: David Zipes, MD, director of pediatric hospitalist service at the Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital in Indianapolis, Ind.

Dr. Zipes oversees all hospitalists and staff, leads strategic planning for the group and the hospital, oversees the business and financial issues of the group and provides general medical direction and leadership of the pediatric units at both the Peyton Manning’s Children’s Hospital and its suburban campus.

As a founding member of SHM, Dr. Zipes is active on its Annual Meeting Planning Committee, Pediatrics Committee, and Pediatrics Core Competencies Task Force. He is also a contributing author for Pediatric Hospital Medicine and the Textbook of Pediatric Hospital Medicine, and a founding member of the annual pediatric hospital medicine meeting.

He also has been the recipient of several awards, including the Family Medicine Teacher of the Year Annual Award (2002, 2005, and 2006) and the St. Vincent Spirit of Caring Award for Service and Dedication to the Hospital (2006 and 2007.)

Dr. Zipes earned his bachelor’s and medical degrees from Indiana University. He completed his residency at Children’s Hospital Medicine Center in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Drs. Jenkins, left, and Maynard, among the winners of the Team Approaches in Quality Improvement Award for their project “Optimizing Prevention of Hospital-Acquired Venous Thromboembolism.”

Drs. Jenkins, left, and Maynard, among the winners of the Team Approaches in Quality Improvement Award for their project “Optimizing Prevention of Hospital-Acquired Venous Thromboembolism.”

Award for Team Approaches in Quality Improvement: Team Leader, Greg Maynard, MD, MSc, professor of clinical medicine and chief of the division of hospital medicine at the University of California, San Diego.

Dr. Maynard and his team (Ian Jenkins, MD, Sarah Stone, MD, Josh Lee, MD, Ed Fink, Tim Morris, MD, Peter Fedullo, MD, Robert Schoenhaus, PharmD, Doug Humber, PharmD, Marian Renvall, Pat Cal, and Isabella London) are the recipients of the first Team Approaches in Quality Improvement Award for their project “Optimizing Prevention of Hospital-Acquired Venous Thromboembolism.”

Dr. Maynard led the three-year project, which has been implemented at more than 25 sites. Using proven performance-improvement methods and a multidisciplinary team structure, Maynard and his team designed a VTE-prevention protocol for all adult inpatients at their academic center. The protocol integrated a simple VTE risk assessment with a menu of prophylaxis options preferred at each level of risk.

During three years of study, the percentage of patients with adequate VTE prophylaxis regimens increased from 55% to 98%, and the number of patients suffering from hospital-acquired VTE decreased dramatically.

Next Article:

   Comments ()