All Content

SHM Honors its Best


SHM recently presented its 2007 Awards of Excellence to four hospitalists whose work and research have contributed significantly to hospital medicine and to the betterment of patient care and quality improvement. The award winners were recognized at “Hospital Medicine 2007” held in Dallas in May:

  • Award for Clinical Excellence: Adrienne Green, MD, hospitalist at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) Medical Center, associate chief medial officer, associate professor of medicine, and physician lead for the Department of Care Coordination at UCSF.
  • Award for Excellence in Research: Vineet Arora, MD, MA, assistant professor for the University of Chicago’s Department of Medicine, associate program director for the Internal Medicine Residency Program and assistant dean for curricular innovation for the Pritzker School of Medicine.
  • Award for Excellence in Teaching: Jeffrey Glasheen, MD, assistant professor of medicine, director of the hospital medicine unit and inpatient clinical services, associate program director of the Internal Medicine Residency Training Program and program director for the Hospitalist Training Program at the University of Colorado at Denver Health Sciences Center.
  • Award for Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine: Daniel Rauch, MD, director of the pediatric hospitalist program and assistant residency director of pediatrics for the New York University School of Medicine.
Award for Clinical Excellence Adrienne Green, MD

Dr. Green has been a clinically active hospitalist at UCSF Medical Center since 1998. She is engaged in improving systems at USCF, especially in the areas of patient safety, utilization management, compliance, and throughput.

She also enjoys the challenge of working to fix broken systems within the hospital and strives to engage providers across disciplines to work collaboratively to improve the care of hospitalized patients. For this work, she received the UCSF Exceptional Physician Award in 2005.

A graduate of Wesleyan University, Dr. Green received her bachelor’s in molecular biology and chemistry. She earned her medical degree from Hahnemann University School of Medicine and completed her residency at Stanford University (Calif.) in internal medicine.

Award for Excellence in Research Vineet Arora, MD, MA

Dr. Arora’s academic research work on medical education topics such as the effects of sleep deprivation on resident fatigue and patient care, as well as resident interaction with industry, and communication during the handoff process, earned her this year’s Award of Excellence in Research. Her research focuses on measuring and improving quality of care of hospitalized elderly patients. She is the recipient of the Hartford Geriatrics Health Outcomes Research Scholars Award and has also served as a content expert for the development of hospital care quality indicators as part of the ACOVE-3 (Assessing Care for the Vulnerable Elder) Project.

As an active member of SHM, Dr. Arora is the co-founder of the Young Physicians Committee, a member of the SHM Annual Meeting Planning Committee, chair of the Handoff Standards Task Force, and a reviewer for the Research Abstract Committee. She received her bachelor’s from Johns Hopkins University, completed her graduate studies at the University of Chicago Irving B. Harris School of Public Policy, and received her medical degree from Washington University. She completed her residency training in internal medicine and her fellowship in general medicine research at the University of Chicago.

Award for Excellence in Teaching Jeffrey Glasheen, MD

Dr. Glasheen has received many awards recognizing his dedication to hospital medicine and teaching. He is a two-time winner of the Outstanding Clinical Teacher Award given by the students at the University of Colorado School of Medicine, as well as winner of the 7th Annual Elaine Cleary Faculty Teaching Award as the most outstanding educator in the University of Colorado’s Division of General Internal Medicine. As an active member of SHM, Dr. Glasheen participates in the Research, Annual Meeting, and Hospital Medicine Certification committees. He also serves as an SHM delegate to the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Task Force for Hospitalist Credentialing. Dr. Glasheen also has served as the assistant editor for the Journal of Hospital Medicine since its inception. Most recently, he has been named physician editor for The Hospitalist.

A graduate of Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, Dr. Glasheen earned his bachelor’s in biology and earned his medical degree from the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine, where he also completed his residency training.

Award for Outstanding Service in Hospital Medicine Daniel Rauch, MD

Dr. Rauch is a nationally recognized leader in pediatric hospital medicine. He has done extensive work with the SHRQ Pediatric Quality Indicators Project, resulting in an invitation to serve on the National Quality Forum Pediatric Technical Advisory Panel, as part of the National Voluntary Consensus Standards for Hospital Care: Additional Priorities, 2006-2007. He is an active member of SHM, serving on the Pediatrics and Benchmarks Committees. Additionally, he sits on the executive committee of the hospital medicine section and is a member of the National Committee on Residential Scholarships for the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Dr. Rauch is a graduate of Wesleyan University, where he received his bachelor’s in biology. He earned his medical degree from Wesleyan’s Albert Einstein College of Medicine, where he also completed his residency in pediatrics.

For additional information call (800) 843-3360 or visit All Award of Excellence recipients receive an all expense-paid trip and complimentary registration to “Hospital Medicine 2008” in San Diego from April 3-5. TH

Congratulations to all this year’s winners. If you would like to nominate someone for the 2008 Awards of Excellence, please send a nomination letter (nominees may be self-nominated) along with the nominee’s curriculum vitae and two letters of support. E-mail letters and curriculum vitae to

Next Article:

   Comments ()